Epoc Workshop 2016

Education and Public Outreach Workshop

The Astronomical Society of Australia’s Inaugural Education and Public Outreach Chapter Workshop is on 17 – 18 February 2016.

Location: David Caro Building, School of Physics, University of Melbourne, Cnr Tin Alley and Swanston St, Parkville, VIC (MU Campus Map)

Dates: Wednesday 17 and Thursday 18 February 2016 (with optional tour on the  morning of Friday 19 February).

Registrations are now CLOSED.


This 2-day workshop focuses on a range of topics in astronomy communication, education and public outreach.

We aim to bring together a diverse range of practitioners from professional astronomers, students, educators and the science communication communities. With hands-on sessions, lively presentations and panel sessions and ample time for discussion groups you’ll learn about techniques and tools for effective communication and outreach.

Hands-on workshop various invested groups will identify the current issues in communicating ideas about astronomy to a diverse audience then form working groups to map out future avenues.


2016 ASA EPOC Workshop Program

Themes include:

  • Communicating Astronomy: working with Media, Government and the public
  • Effective engagement with Schools
  • Tools for outreach.

A variety of short talks, panel sessions and discussion groups will provide plenty of ideas and allow us to map out priorities for the future of astronomy EPO across Australia.


A Planetarium Show at the Melbourne Planetarium, Spotswood is planned on the Wednesday evening prior to the workshop dinner. On the Friday morning we have an optional tour of the Victorian Space Science Education Centre (VSSEC) and stand on the surface of Mars! VSSEC is conveniently located halfway from the CBD to Tullamarine Airport.

The conference dinner will be held the evening of 17 February at the Spottiswoode Hotel following the visit to the Melbourne Planetarium.  This dinner is optional and self-funded.  The cost of the dinner is around $55.00.


Registrations are now CLOSED.

Registration for the workshop is free, however registration is essential for catering purposes.


Here are some hotels within walking distance to University of Melbourne in Carlton and Parkville.

Other suburbs we can recommend include North Melbourne, Brunswick and the CBD but may require public transport.


We recommend catching the Skybus from Tullamarine Airport into Melbourne CBD, who also supply free hotel transfers – check their website. From there all suggested accommodation, workshop venue, Melbourne Planetarium and VSSEC are accessible via public transport. You will require a MYKI card to access all public transport.

The University of Melbourne is a 20 minute walk from the CBD.

Car hire is also available from Tullamarine Airport.

Travel Assistance
Travel assistance may be available for participants to attend the conference contingent on the amount of sponsorship we obtain. Grants will be available with a value up to $500 depending on circumstances. To be considered for travel support please complete the Travel Grant Application prior to 25 January 2016, and we will notify you of the outcome on 30 January 2016.

We also hope to be able to provide childcare. If interested please indicate during the registration process.

Accessibility Information

All venues have wheelchair access, with lifts and ramp access to 2nd floor areas.

 Organising Committee

  • Jacinta den Besten, University of Melbourne (co-chair)
  • Rob Hollow, CSIRO (co-chair)
  • Shaila Akhter, UNSW (Student rep)
  • Julie Banfield, ANU
  • Tanya Hill, Museum Victoria, Melbourne Planetarium
  • Glen Mackie, Swinburne
  • Michael Pakakis, Victorian Space Science Education Centre
  • Brad Tucker, ANU
  • Christian Reichardt, University of Melbourne

Code of Conduct

As an ASA workshop, all participants are expected to adhere to the ASA Code of Conduct.


Robert Hollow CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science
Christopher Fluke Swinburne University of Technology
Darren Croton Swinburne University
Karen Bradford University of Tasmania, School of Physical Sciences
Donna Burton University of Southern QLD
Christian Reichardt U.Melbourne
SAEED SALIMPOUR University of Melbourne/Ballarat Observatory
Alex Codoreanu Swinburne CAS
Michael Brown Monash University
Mark McAuley Astronomy Australia Ltd
Duncan Forbes Swinburne
Jonathan Marshall UNSW Australia
Jacinta den Besten University of Melbourne
Mike Thompson Backyard AstroScience
Michael Fitzgerald Edith Cowan Institute for Education Research
Stephanie Bernard University of Melbourne
Sarah Reeves University of Sydney
Tui Britton Macquarie University
Tash McFadden Macquarie University
Kirsten Gottschalk ICRAR
James Murray Mount Burnett Observatory
Marnie Ogg Sydney Observatory
Vanessa Moss CAASTRO/University of Sydney
PAM BAIN individual
Carolyn Lewens Monash university
Kate Maiden Scientists and Mathematicians in Schools
Alina Donea Monash University
Christene Lynch University of Sydney/CAASTRO
Lisa Harvey-Smith CSIRO
C. Renee James Sam Houston State University
Brittany Trubody TastroFest
Chris Rudge Astronomical Society of Victoria
Fred Watson AAO
Tanya Hill Museum Victoria
Tiffany Day Macquarie University and Sydney Observatory
Korinne McDonnell CSIRO – Canberra Deep Space Communication Complex
Jasmina Lazendic-Galloway Monash University
Silvia Choi CAASTRO & Sydney Observatory
Marissa Nerwich Sydney Observatory
Sue McArthur Mt Burnett Observatory
Flo Yuen CSIRO
Heike Reich Mount Burnett Observatory
Katie Mack University of Melbourne
Peter Lake iTelescope.net
Jerry Skinner Australian SKA Office


For more details or registration queries please contact Jacinta den Besten or Rob Hollow

Sponsors – Thank you to all of our sponsors and contributors.